The EU has shut down seven Russian banks from SWIFT and banned the aggressor from exporting euros

The European Union is disconnecting seven Russian banks from the SWIFT system and banning citizens and companies from handing over euro banknotes to Russia. The European Union bans the use of the international SWIFT system for «Otkrytie Bank», «Novikombank», «Promsvyazbank», «Bank of Russia», «Sovcombank», «Vnesheconombank» (VEB) and VTB BANK.

This ban will take effect on the tenth day after its publication in the Official Journal of the EU (ie from 12 March)

It should be noted that the EU ambassadors eventually decided not to include in SWIFT such Russian banks as «Sberbank», the country’s largest creditor, and «Gazprombank».

Source: Ukrainska Pravda


To top